Buddhist Studies

Half-Day Meditation Retreat

Walking + sitting meditation to deepen your practice

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Sat, 6/3/2017, 9:00am - 1:00pm

Share

Saturday June 3,  9:00am - 1:00pm
with Kim Brown and Caitlin Bailey
$20/$30/$50

IDP offers its events on a sliding scale basis so that everyone can attend, regardless of financial means. This requires that you pay the highest rate you can reasonably afford. If you are a Monthly Member, we suggest you select the middle rate. 

Teaching Lovingkindness Meditation

Teacher:

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Sat, 5/6/2017, 10:00am - 4:00pm

Share

with Kimberly Brown
Saturday, May 6, 2017
10 AM - 4 PM

$65/$95/$125

IDP offers its events on a sliding scale basis so that everyone can attend, regardless of financial means. This requires that you pay the highest rate you can reasonably afford. If you are a Monthly Member, we suggest you select the middle rate. Scholarship information is available at the bottom of this page.

Discovering Self-Compassion

Teacher:

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Sat, 4/29/2017, 10:00am - 2:00pm

Share

with Kimberly Brown
Saturday, April 29, 2017
10 AM - 2 PM

$30*/$50/$60 - Please pay the highest rate you can reasonably afford.  This enables us to accomodate as many students as possible.  If you are a Monthly Member, we suggest you select the middle rate. Scholarship information is available at the bottom of this page.

* This rate is suggested for students, senior citizens, and unemployed persons. 

Half-Day Meditation Retreat

Walking + sitting meditation to deepen your practice

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Sun, 5/7/2017, 9:00am - 1:00pm

Share

Sunday May 7,  9:00am - 1:00pm
with Kim Brown and Caitlin Bailey
$20/$30/$50

IDP offers its events on a sliding scale basis so that everyone can attend, regardless of financial means. This requires that you pay the highest rate you can reasonably afford. If you are a Monthly Member, we suggest you select the middle rate. 

Keeping Your Heart Open: Working with Anger and Hatred

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Sat, 3/11/2017, 10:00am - 4:00pm

Register

Sliding Scale

Please select the highest rate you can reasonably afford. If you are a Monthly Member, we suggest you select the middle rate. 

$30

$50

$75

Share

with Emily Herzlin and Caitlin Bailey
Saturday, March 11, 2017
10 AM - 4 PM

IDP offers its events on a sliding scale basis so that everyone can attend, regardless of financial means. This requires that you pay the highest rate you can reasonably afford. If you are a Monthly Member, we suggest you select the middle rate. 

Scholarship information is available at the bottom of this page. 

Half-Day Meditation Retreat

Teacher:

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Sun, 2/12/2017, 9:00am - 1:00pm

Share

Sunday February 12,  9:00am - 1:00pm
with Caitlin Bailey

Our Half-Day Meditation Retreats are designed for new meditators, people who want to sit for a longer period of time without attending a full retreat, and an opportunity for experienced students to cultivate their practice.  We'll have periods of sitting and walking meditation, and time for discussion and Q&A. 

Wise Action: Making Good Decisions When You're Angry and Scared

Create a Harmonious World
Teacher:

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Sun, 2/26/2017, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Share

During this difficult and confusing time, each one of us can learn to take a stand with our actions to benefit others and prevent harm to ourselves and the world. Using traditional practices of mindfulness and concentration, we start to notice conditioned responses arising from anger, fear, neediness, denial, or impatience, and develop the ability to make conscious and deliberate choices in our speech and behaviors.

Event Category

Mindfulness Plus 101

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States

When

Sun, 12/31/2017, 8:00am - 9:00am

Share

 

Since its inception, IDP has offered secular and multi-lineage programs accessible to everyone.  We've improved and updated our curriculum (formerly known as the Secular Buddhist Studies Program) to create a series of retreats and workshops, presenting distinct areas of learning and practice for contemporary mindfulness students, including targeted trainings to encourage ethical integrity, meditative contemplation and clarifying wisdom.

Event Category

Metta Meditation Group

Weekly Sitting Practice

Location

The Interdependence Project
28 West 27th Street, Suite 704 Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10001
United States
Phone: info@theidproject.org

When

Fri, 1/6/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 1/13/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 1/20/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 1/27/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 2/3/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 2/10/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 2/17/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 2/24/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 3/3/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 3/10/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 3/17/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 3/24/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 3/31/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 4/7/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 4/14/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 4/21/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 4/28/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 5/5/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 5/12/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 5/19/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 5/26/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 6/2/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 6/9/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 6/16/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 6/23/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 7/7/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 7/14/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 7/21/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 7/28/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 8/4/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 8/11/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 8/18/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 8/25/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 9/8/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 9/15/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 9/22/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri, 9/29/2017, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Share

No class June 30 or September 1.

Metta, or Lovingkindness Meditation (LKM), is the practice of wishing oneself and others happiness, health, and ease. Based on traditional Buddhist teachings, it has become an increasingly popular practice, as it generates both concentration and a deep understanding of the nature of our connection to ourselves and others. Cultivating compassion and patience towards our experience enables us to build equanimity and courage through the constant and inevitable changing circumstances of life.

Syndicate content

Site developed by the IDP and Genalo Designs.